Could you get a misdemeanor for asking if your child’s teacher is armed? Maybe

The Kansas House Insurance Committee will hear a bill to arm teachers and other school employees on Tuesday, March 27th at 8am in the Kansas Statehouse. This bill does a lot more than just equipping lunch ladies with guns and potentially adding a handgun to a teacher’s school supply list. It may also end up making disclosing or “encouraging disclosure of” the school employees that are carrying a class C misdemeanor offense.

A Class C Misdemeanor offense is punishable by up to a month in jail and a fine of up to $500.

Here’s the section of the bill in question, Section 5(b):  

“Any individual, association, partnership, corporation or other entity that willfully or knowingly discloses, permits or encourages disclosure of such confidential information [in this case, the identities or personal information of the employees carrying guns at school] shall be guilty of a class C misdemeanor”

What does this mean for us?

Is a parent who demands to know if their child’s teacher armed guilty of a misdemeanor?

Is a student who warns other students that a teacher is packing heat guilty of a misdemeanor?

Would we, Fail Campus Carry, be guilty of a misdemeanor for thinking this is a horrible idea and saying as much?

What do you have to say for it to be considered “encouraging disclosure”?

We shouldn’t be arming school employees to begin with, but if they are to have guns, people deserve to know which ones are. If a parent doesn’t want their kid in a classroom with a teacher who’s carrying a gun, they should be able to request that they be put in a different classroom without facing potential jail time. 

What can we do about this?

Please attend the hearing tomorrow, Tuesday, March 27th at 8am in Room 281-N in the Kansas Statehouse. Also, please contact the members the House Insurance Committee and tell them why you oppose this bill. We will keep you updated.

House Insurance Committee

Chair Rep. Jene Vickrey

Phone: 785-296-7748
Email: jene.vickrey@house.ks.gov

Vice-Chair Rep. Willie Dove

Phone: 785 296-7677
Email: willie.dove@house.ks.gov

Ranking Minority Leader Rep. Cindy Neighbor

Phone: 785 296-7690
Email: Cindy.Neighbor@house.ks.gov

Rep. Elizabeth Bishop

Phone: 785 296-5016
Email: Elizabeth.Bishop@house.ks.gov

Rep. Ken Corbet

Phone: 785 296-7679
Email: ken.corbet@house.ks.gov

Rep. Tom Cox

Phone: 785 296-7331
Email: Tom.Cox@house.ks.gov

Rep. Roger Elliott

Phone: 785 296-7476
Email: Roger.Elliott@house.ks.gov

Rep. John Eplee

Phone: 785 296-8621
Email: John.Eplee@house.ks.gov

Rep. Gail Finney

Phone: 785 296-7649
Email: gail.finney@house.ks.gov

Rep. Daniel Hawkins

Phone: 785 296-7631
Email: dan.hawkins@house.ks.gov

Rep. Tim Hodge

Phone: 785 296-2361
Email: Tim.Hodge@house.ks.gov

Rep. Jim Kelly

Phone: 785 296-6014
Email: jim.kelly@house.ks.gov

Rep. Boyd Orr

Phone: 785 296-7392
Email: Boyd.Orr@house.ks.gov

Rep. Brett Parker

Phone: 785 296-5413
Email: Brett.Parker@house.ks.gov

Rep. Randy Powell

Phone: 785-296-5593
Email: randy.powell@house.ks.gov

Rep. Adam Smith

Phone: 785 296-0715
Email: Adam.Smith@house.ks.gov

Rep. Frank Trimboli

Phone: 785-296-7654
Email: frank.trimboli@house.ks.gov